Today’s Writing Advice: Less is More

That Blinding Spotlight

I do agree that when I write, sometimes I get tempted to show off my (not so) vast vocabulary and go on and on with describing how the setting looks like or what my character is wearing. But when I read it all back I lose interest and feel like I’m wasting my time on something that doesn’t really make sense (unless you are a witness describing a crime scene then that would be very helpful.)

Today’s writing advice is short and sweet : Less is more.

Here are some ways to avoid stranding your reader in Description Land:

 

  • Instagram Characters. When we meet people, we make an instant assessment. Unless we have all the time in the world to observe, our brains pick out the most important cues to store as memory. If you as writer belabor a description–say starting at the head and working your way to…

View original post 242 more words

Leave a Reply

